New Member from Wiltshire! - Ford C-Max Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-06-2012, 03:32 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chippenham.
Posts: 28


Hi folks.Just about to take delivery of a Mars Red CMax Titanium. I have read with interest on the subject of DLR's and Fords head in sand attitude to the fitment with regard to EU legislation!I have purchased a set from Ring which, according to them, are easy fit. However a light wiring diagram for this years spec CMAx would help - any offers. Have googled to no avail!Look forward to your replies. [img]smileys/smiley2.gif[/img]
Nitonboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 01-06-2012, 06:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location:
Posts: 93
On my way back home tomorrow to see the Robins play - now Surrey based but previously your neck of the woods.

1.6 Ecoboost - Frozen White
suziphene is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 01-07-2012, 02:08 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Helsingborg
Posts: 19
okay, we'll talk about this subject in your thread then :P haha
how many wires are there on your DRL's?
Bruno is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 Old 01-07-2012, 05:47 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chippenham.
Posts: 28


Well Bruno I cant tell at moment but here is the link to the short videoclip:http://www.ringautomotive.co.uk/imag...h/drlvideo.aspDoes look like three wires but on box says needs a 'piggyback fuse holder' as well

CMAX 2012 Titanium with City Pack. Mars Red 1\'6 Petrol with 5 Sp Manual.
Nitonboy is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 01-07-2012, 05:49 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chippenham.
Posts: 28

Quote:
Originally Posted by suziphene
On my way back home tomorrow to see the Robins play - now Surrey based but previously your neck of the woods.
You admit to supporting Swindon Town? [img]smileys/smiley36.gif[/img][img]smileys/smiley17.gif[/img]

CMAX 2012 Titanium with City Pack. Mars Red 1\'6 Petrol with 5 Sp Manual.
Nitonboy is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 01-08-2012, 03:08 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Helsingborg
Posts: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitonboy

Well Bruno I cant tell at moment but here is the link to the short videoclip:http://www.ringautomotive.co.uk/imag...h/drlvideo.aspDoes look like three wires but on box says needs a 'piggyback fuse holder' as well
If you have three wires you do like this (i assume you have these colors): Black wire - ground, Red wire - 12V, find a wire in the car that has 12V when ignition is turned on and nothing when ignition off, and then the third wire could be white or yellow or whatever color.. this one you connect to the wire in the car that supplies the "position light" in the headlight, because that's the wire that either fades or turns the DRL's off.
You will need a fuse at the red wire
If there are 2 wires you'll have to have a switch of some sort
do you have the "A" on your headlight switch? the auto.. and are you low beams always on, even if it's light outside?
Bruno is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 01-08-2012, 06:11 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chippenham.
Posts: 28


Answering questions backwards, yes the lights have auto function.No lights only on when light level falls.3 wires;Black wire = earthWhite + = ignition supplied source(?)Yellow + = Vehicle side light circuit (What colour wire?).Yes, have a 'piggyback' fuse holder for the white + wire - any suggestions as to anything in fusebox in engine bay?Sorry! Questions, questions! [img]smileys/smiley4.gif[/img]

CMAX 2012 Titanium with City Pack. Mars Red 1\'6 Petrol with 5 Sp Manual.
Nitonboy is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 01-09-2012, 03:20 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Helsingborg
Posts: 19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitonboy

Answering questions backwards, yes the lights have auto function.No lights only on when light level falls.3 wires;Black wire = earthWhite + = ignition supplied source(?)Yellow + = Vehicle side light circuit (What colour wire?).Yes, have a 'piggyback' fuse holder for the white + wire - any suggestions as to anything in fusebox in engine bay?Sorry! Questions, questions! [img]smileys/smiley4.gif[/img]
Perfect, that means that you don't have to do any programming!
do you have any way of meausring or something to see which wire it is? i mean, do you have equpiment?
about the wire for the "White +".. i kinda made a custom solution so to speak, i cut a fuse in 2 halfs if you know what i mean, so that i just had the "legs" left, the ones that go into the cars wires.. and then i connected other wires to the "legs" and then put the fuse into these 2 wires and connected (in your case) the white one to one of those 2 wires, doesn't matter which one.. that meant that i didn't have to damage the wires in the car, so i can easily put everything back to "standard" and nobody will ever know that enything was done this of course is kinda hard with the big holes through the front bumper :P haha
i can take a picture later tonight to show you how i've done
Edited by: Bruno
Bruno is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 01-09-2012, 05:48 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chippenham.
Posts: 28


We use a thing here called a 'Scotchlok' in which you put the wire into that needs connecting to a source, put it around relevant wireand a thin 'E' shaped blade (Turned with the arms facing down) cuts through both wires (Very thinly) thus 'connecting' the wires. They are very popular and on removal leave a barely discernable cut in the main wire.Forgot to mention that the set has some sort of control box in the system. (As per video clip)

CMAX 2012 Titanium with City Pack. Mars Red 1\'6 Petrol with 5 Sp Manual.
Nitonboy is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 01-09-2012, 06:13 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Helsingborg
Posts: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitonboy

We use a thing here called a 'Scotchlok' in which you put the wire into that needs connecting to a source, put it around relevant wireand a thin 'E' shaped blade (Turned with the arms facing down) cuts through both wires (Very thinly) thus 'connecting' the wires. They are very popular and on removal leave a barely discernable cut in the main wire.Forgot to mention that the set has some sort of control box in the system. (As per video clip)
oh yeah, we have those to good stuff!
but i just dont get what the box is for? what is it connected to?
Bruno is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford C-Max Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Member DrG New Member Introductions 0 03-16-2012 08:35 AM
New member james.kenneth New Member Introductions 5 07-06-2011 11:35 AM
New Member Bartman New Member Introductions 8 10-04-2010 02:13 AM
Hi All From a new member BIFF0 New Member Introductions 2 10-03-2010 02:23 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome