speedo problem - Ford C-Max Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-04-2010, 05:56 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: liverpool
Posts: 11
Hi Guys, <?: prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><?: PREFIX = O /><O:P></O:P>
<O:P></O:P>
This is my first post.<O:P></O:P>
<O:P></O:P>
I have just bought a 2005 1.6 zetec diesel<O:P></O:P>
<O:P></O:P>
On the way home on the motorway I noticed the Speedo needle was saying 90 when I had clearly slowed down to about 60 I thought it might just needle the ignition turning of and all would be well, this did nothing. I then noticed as I drove of the Speedo needle would start moving but from the 90 mph to off the scale. When I stopped the needle stayed at 90. when I turn the ignition on the needle pulses about 5 mph then back to 90mph again.<O:P></O:P>
<O:P></O:P>
Any ideas what it could be and how to re-set this???????????????????<O:P></O:P>
<O:P></O:P>
Patrick<O:P></O:P>
patrick6822 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-04-2010, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 344
If you bought it from a garage go back pronto.
I would also wonder if the mileometer was pukka or had been tampered with.

57 Titanium 1.6 110 DPF, X Sport pack, panoramic roof,Sony 6 CD changer with voice control bluetooth.
Olliesgrandad is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-04-2010, 06:32 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: liverpool
Posts: 11
the milage is genuine as the service book is stamped up to last year. it was a fleet owned car!

Thanks

Patrick
patrick6822 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 12-04-2010, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hants
Posts: 153
This is a new typeof penalty for doing 90 in the first place, ( shame on you!)
It will get reset when you hand yourself in....................

Coat, hat and run..................






Doris.
2ltr TDCI Ghia 56 reg.
CDORISMAX is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-05-2010, 02:54 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: liverpool
Posts: 11
ooops!

I was only following the traffic Officer!
patrick6822 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-07-2010, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Richard G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Water Orton
Posts: 3,967
I suspect it may either be a connection to the instrument panel or the panel itself
Does the rev counter appear sensible when you are in keeping up with other traffic, In 5th it ought to be about 30 MPH for every 1000 RPM






Richard
54 Plate 1.6 TDCI LX ~aspiring to be something else
Richard G is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 12-08-2010, 04:54 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: liverpool
Posts: 11
Hi Richard,

As i stated in my last post, I have sorted it out using the reset-test function. The speedo sems to be ok now. the revs are roughly 2800 at 60mph.

2005 1.6 TDCI Zetec 5 Speed
patrick6822 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford C-Max Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome