Spare Key - Ford C-Max Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-18-2010, 06:42 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location:
Posts: 219
Can someone clarify something regarding recoding a spare key please.

I have a remote fob plus one 'normal' key. If I go to Fords and and buy another will I be able to program the new key to the remote locking AND immobiliser/alarm?

Thanks,
Tony


2009 2.0 Tdci Zetec
Tony is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-18-2010, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chelmsford
Posts: 1,085
You'll be able to programme the remote locking but not the immobiliser, it has to be programmed using computer, frauds or an automotive locksmith is your only answer unfortunately!

2010 Titanium 2.0 TDCI Panther Black.
kevmond is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-18-2010, 07:21 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location:
Posts: 219

Thought that might be the case. So I'll be able to get into the car but can't drive it unless I pay Ford first............

Thanks for the info.

Tony

Edited by: Tony

2009 2.0 Tdci Zetec
Tony is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 02-19-2010, 01:46 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location:
Posts: 219
On the same subject basically. U tried my spare (second) key today just to make sure it worked. It opened the door OK and when I got into the car there was a distinct chiming noise. It stopped when I put the key in the ignition and switched on. I assume this is normal?

Did ring the local Ford dealer re a third key - quoted 180 for a remote - didn't ask about the normal type key as I had fainted!

Thanks,
Tony


2009 2.0 Tdci Zetec
Tony is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-19-2010, 02:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chelmsford
Posts: 1,085
Were the lights on?
If so, then yes thats normal, if not then......

2010 Titanium 2.0 TDCI Panther Black.
kevmond is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-19-2010, 03:08 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location:
Posts: 219

Found this on the Fiesta ST forum:

"You can get in using the non-remote/plain key if
you've put the alarm on with the remote, but you then have 15 seconds to
put the key in the ignition and turn it to position 1 otherwise the
alarm will go off (you'll hear a chime as soon as you open the door)."

I tried again and didn't rush to put the key in the ignition and the alarm did indeed sound.

Tony


Edited by: Tony

2009 2.0 Tdci Zetec
Tony is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-19-2010, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 1,124
Yup - it's a feature not a fault ;-)

08 1.8 Titanium C-Max *ST Styled* With Car PC Fitted
Previous:54 1.6TDCi LX Focus C-Max
Gepard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford C-Max Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
spare wheel ian08zetec1600petrol Main Message Centre 0 03-11-2011 11:38 PM
NO SPARE ROLY Main Message Centre 3 03-25-2008 04:36 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome