Locks and ipods - Ford C-Max Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 10-05-2009, 01:32 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location:
Posts: 26
Morning all,

As a 2-day old c-max owner Im sure to have loads more questions, but here are the first two!

- Is there a way of locking all the doors when you are in the car? Previous cars that I have had had a button to lock the doors, but I cant find one anywhere on this one.

- I have the USB kit and the manual seems evasive on the whether I need a bespoke ford cable to connect an ipod or not.

Other than these on the first couple of days its a great little car.

Thanks in advance

Arabella
ArabellaP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 10-05-2009, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Richard G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Water Orton
Posts: 3,967
As to locks isn't there one as part of the internal door handle release?




Richard
54 Plate 1.6 TDCI LX ~aspiring to be something else
Richard G is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 10-05-2009, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location:
Posts: 26
Hmmmm will be very embarassing if I missed that......!

Thanks Richard
ArabellaP is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 Old 10-05-2009, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 1,124
You push the short stumpy bit above the handle in. It's not a button as such....

I think.....USB kit on the Ford Radios is normally for USB sticks not Ipods......Can you post a pick up of the radio?

If it has Aux written on it then you can get by with a Aux-in cable.

08 1.8 Titanium C-Max *ST Styled* With Car PC Fitted
Previous:54 1.6TDCi LX Focus C-Max
Gepard is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 10-05-2009, 06:49 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location:
Posts: 26
That might be why I missed it - thanks will check later.

I have the sony single cd radio, and in the centre console between the drivers seats are two sockets - a usb one and what looks like a standard headphone type socket. Manual alludes to needing some kind of 3 way cable that splits the ipod output (the one on the base) into 2 cables that go into the 2 different sockets - confusingly it also seems to say that you dont have to use this cable....?

http://www.fordpartsuk.com/shop/audio_cable_btvc_phone_interface_+_usb_connect_108 6.htm
ArabellaP is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 10-05-2009, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 1,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArabellaP
Other than these on the first couple of days its a great little car.
And before you were calling it boring!


I'm not a Ipod owner so this is purely guess work...but I'm guessing the flat end of that cable goes into the bottom of the ipod. The audio from an ipod can go through either the bottom or the headphone jack. So if you wanted to connect your ipod to it you can use either that cable or a line in lead that goes in the headphone jack.

I'd guess that that lead there offer the HU some control over the ipod (skip/previous track etc) through the USB connector.....

08 1.8 Titanium C-Max *ST Styled* With Car PC Fitted
Previous:54 1.6TDCi LX Focus C-Max
Gepard is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 10-05-2009, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Richard G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Water Orton
Posts: 3,967
this I think is the cable you allude to
http://www.fordpartsuk.com/shop/audio_cable_btvc_phone_interface_+_usb_connect_108 6.htm




Richard
54 Plate 1.6 TDCI LX ~aspiring to be something else
Richard G is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 10-06-2009, 01:42 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location:
Posts: 26
Thanks Richard,

I think I have got to the bottom of it and its as gepard suggested - the usb half of the Y cable provides data on the tracks etc to the display, while the 3.5mm sends the audio. Seems you can just use a 3.5mm audio cable if all you want to do is stream audio from ipod, but if you want full control its best to go with the ford cable or a combination of your own USB and 3.5mm cable.

Arabella
ArabellaP is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-02-2009, 02:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Essex
Posts: 46
or, if you want you can use 2 idividual cables if you have them

The regular ipod dock/usb cable and a lead with a 3.5mm headphone plug at each end.
tdci-Si is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford C-Max Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome