Diesel Tuning Performance Chip - Ford C-Max Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 12-19-2008, 04:56 PM Thread Starter

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in these parts, so please be gentle

Having recently bought an 04 2.0 TDCI Ghia C-MAX, I am looking to improve MPG, which, as other people have found, is way off the projected 50MPG (combined) as advertised by Ford.

Does anyone have any experience of one of these (99)? Will it do as is advertised, in particular, improve MPG?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Diesel-Tuning-Performance-Chip-Ford-focus-C-Max-TDCI_W0QQitemZ110314381388QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Ca rsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item110314381388 &_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1301%7C66%3A2 %7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

I have noticed MetalMickey is using a Tunit, but as nearly 500, this is a little out of my price range.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 12-19-2008, 08:14 PM

Hello again , you need to be carefull with this topic, the expensive tuning boxs do calculate various parameters and give good power returns and a little increase in mpg by carefully increaseing the pressure of the common rail. However the cheap boxes are little more than a transistor,diode and potentiometer which just magnifies the ecu signal and increases common rail pressure massively or tricks the ecu into thinking the engine is cold (more fuel). I had an expensive box on one of my previous cars and it worked well. IMO try to change your driving style the 2.0tdci certainly has enough power for most I regularly give mine a thrash and still get 35 around town and high 40s on a run. Hope this helps
post #3 of 15 Old 12-19-2008, 09:31 PM Thread Starter