Potential Disaster - Ford C-Max Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-20-2012, 12:29 PM Thread Starter

Potential Disaster

Hello folks, I'm a newbie to this place.

Just bought a 55 plate 1.6 auto derv model. Not entirely sure it's running right. Bought it from a dealer local to me, seemed to suit my requirements, was ok on the 2 mile left turn only test drive. It seemed a bit noisy but for 80k miles, it's hardly going to be perfect.

So I collected the car on Friday evening, have done a couple of hundred miles in it since and so far it's had a flat spot when booting it to motorway speed, transmission warning light has been on and off, it jerks like a bucking bronco when trying to reverse park changing from drive to reverse etc and it's making 2 different whirring noises.

The garage have given me a 1k capped 6 month warranty and he's said he'll take it back for investigation tomorrow. Still not sure what the faults may be and surely if it's transmission based then the 1000 limit will be shot straight down in flames?

Anyone have any suggestions as to what the problems might be? All help appreciated. Apart from the likes of 'you've bought a nail' lol

Best wishes,
Miss Badja
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 05-20-2012, 01:21 PM

Just to confirm this is the 1.6 diesel with the Constantly Variable Automatic transmission (CVT) (Model Number CFT 23)

If so then it is quite likely the gearbox itself and could well need a whole change at around 4,000.

If the dealer didn't mention that there was a fault and didn't adjust the price accordingly I would try to invoke the sales of goods act as to a fault not being pointed out at point of sale and get a refund as fast as possible

Do not agree to let them have a try at repairing it because in most cases up to now the spare parts are not available

Sale of Goods Act 1979 Additional Rights Consumer Cases.pdf

Richard
54 Plate 1.6 TDCI LX ~aspiring to be something else