Fog lights, HID Xenon, DRLs - Ford C-Max Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 10-16-2012, 05:01 AM Thread Starter

Fog lights, HID Xenon, DRLs

Hi all-
I'm a newbie here and to the Ford brand as well. My previous vehicles were Mercedes and Volvo.

We had decided our next vehicle was going to be a hybrid and assumed it would be a Prius but luckily our timing was right and the C-Max hybrid was just beginning to be sold, so we test drove one and bought the most basic model SE ... no options, two weeks ago.

I would have liked to have had power and heated seats, fog lights and push-button start but here in the states, in order to get those features, one must choose the SEL model and be forced to have leather, which we did not want. Removing the leather after the fact was also not a choice.

The inability to pick and choose options seems to be a common complaint here but Ford does nothing to remedy that situation and groups options into packages.

My questions involve the ease to which one can add options such as fog lights, HID Xenon lights, etc. Fog lights are offered in the USA and I've put this question to my service manager with no answer yet:
If I bought the fog lights, plastic grills, wiring jumper (as Ford calls it) and switch and perhaps a fuse, would I be able to connect it all and have it function?

Do Ford vehicles require 'flashing' the computer module to enable the car to 'see' the additional option?

As to Xenon / HIDs, they are not an option here but are everywhere else. I've found a pair of what seem to be original Valeo manufacture lights on ebay (from Latvia) but they do not include the ballast nor bulb, which I've read can be very expensive. So, same question, if I jumped in and bought all these parts, would it work? I've found only one hint online, that being one needs a resistor or some such device to fool the car into thinking there is no voltage drop.